Richard E. Muncrief


Rick Muncrief is the chairman and CEO of WPX Energy (NYSE:WPX) where he has overseen an $8 billion transformation of the company’s portfolio. This includes WPX’s 2015 entry into the Permian Basin through the  acquisition of RKI Exploration & Production.

Rick has 37 years of experience in upstream and midstream, including prior roles at Continental Resources, ConocoPhillips, Burlington Resources and their predecessors. In 2017, Oil & Gas Investor named Rick as the industry Executive of the Year citing the success of WPX’s turnaround.

He was vocal in the fight to lift the crude oil export ban, testifying before the Senate Banking Committee in 2015. He also has appeared on CNBC with Brian Sullivan and Jim Cramer. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in petroleum engineering technology from Oklahoma State University. He paid for college by working on rigs during summers, weekends and on holidays.

Personally, Rick is third-generation oil and gas. His grandfather worked on work-over rigs. His father spent his career in pipeline, compressor and plant construction. And now, Rick’s two children are following in his footsteps. Both work in the industry.

V. Bruce Thompson


Bruce Thompson is President of the American Exploration & Production Council (AXPC) whose membership is composed of more than 30 of America’s premier independent natural gas and oil exploration and production companies.  Bruce joined AXPC after serving as founder and principal of CapeDC Advisors, LLC, a private lobbying and business advisory firm with clients operating primarily in the energy, water management, environmental, health and defense sectors.

Prior to founding CapeDC Advisors, Bruce served in senior management as Senior Vice President and General Counsel of two NYSE-listed independent exploration and production companies, Forest Oil Corporation and SandRidge Energy, Inc. He has testified before the US Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on issues relating to natural gas supply and pricing. He also has extensive international transactional and government affairs experience, having represented clients in dealing with various national and provincial governments in South Africa as well as in transactions in the UK, Italy and Canada.

Bruce has been a Senior Counsel for the firm of Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck in the firm’s Washington, DC office.  He has also served as Chief of Staff for Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK) when the Senator was in the House of Representatives and was a member of the US Senate Budget Committee staff.

Bruce earned his Bachelor of Science in Economics for the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Tulsa College of Law.

Board of Directors

Daniel E. Brown

Anadarko Petroleum Corporation – EVP, US Onshore Operations

John J. Christmann IV

Apache Corporation – President and CEO

Dan O. Dinges  (Member of the Executive Committee)

Cabot Oil & Gas Corporation – Chairman, President and CEO

Frank J. Patterson

Chesapeake Energy Corporation – EVP, Exploration and Production

Thomas E. Jorden (AXPC Vice Chairman and Member of the Executive Committee)

Cimarex Energy Co. – Chairman, President and CEO

Tim Leach

Concho Resources Inc. – Chairman and CEO

David A. Hager (Member of the Executive Committee)

Devon Energy Corporation – President and CEO

Travis D. Stice (Member of the Executive Committee)

Diamondback Energy, Inc. – CEO

Doug Suttles  (Member of the Executive Committee)

Encana Corporation – President and CEO

Jud Walker

EnerVest, Ltd. – President

Eric A. Dille

EOG Resources, Inc. – VP, Government Relations

Eric Jacobsen

Extraction Oil & Gas Inc – SVP, Operations

Donnie Moore

Gulfport Energy Corporation – Chief Operating Officer

Lee Tillman

Marathon Oil Corporation, Chairman, President & CEO

Brent J. Smolik

Noble Energy, Inc., President and COO

Tommy Nusz (Member of the Executive Committee)

Oasis Petroleum, Inc. – CEO

Richard A. Jackson

Occidental Oil & Gas Corporation – Senior Vice President – Operations Support

Matt Gallagher

Parsley Energy, Inc. – President and CEO

Barton R. Brookman, Jr.

PDC Energy, Inc. – President and CEO

Mark S. Berg

Pioneer Natural Resources Company – EVP, Vertically Integrated Operations

Timothy J. Cutt

QEP Resources – President and CEO

Jeffrey L. Ventura

Range Resources Corporation – Chairman, President and CEO

John McGinnis

Seneca Resources Corp. – President

Jay Ottoson

SM Energy Company – President and CEO

William J. Way

Southwestern Energy Company – President and CEO

Brad Johnson

Ultra Petroleum Corp. – Interim CEO

Brad Holly

Whiting Petroleum Corporation – President and CEO

Richard E. Muncrief (AXPC Chairman and Member of the Executive Committee)

WPX Energy, Inc. – Chairman and CEO

Staale Gjervik

XTO Energy, Inc. – President